Ramona Parlor was chartered on June 9, 1887. It is the second largest parlor in southern California and the only one that operates its owncommunity museum.
The Ramona Museum of California History was first opened in 1972 on Figueroa Street in Highland Park. The Museum offers an eclectic collection of artifacts and relics saved by its members since before the turn of the last century. Since many of its members were some of the early movers and shakers in Los Angeles, the collection becomes especially interesting and valuable. Visitors can view a sprig of edelweiss picked in 1603 that had been circulated in circus tents and sideshows in Europe., slippers, combs, and spurs used during the mid-1890's, artifacts and photos from the 1906 San Francisco earthquake and fire, unpublished pictures of Teddy Roosevelt and his Rough Riders and an original law enforcement booking log from the early 1900's.
Ramona Museum of California History
Ramona parlor members and friends are interested in reaching out to local historical societies and small community museums to help them preserve their local history.
Toward that end, we have established a $500 mini-grant program to help stuggling local organizations manage their collections and help make them more accessible to the general public.
Non-profit organizations located in Los Angeles County with operating incomes of less than $25,000 per year may qualify.
Call 626-289-0034 for more information